Wednesday, March 22, 2023

ATK Mohun Bagan topped ISL champions after penalty shootout win over Bengaluru FC

Sandesh Jhingan of Bengaluru FC in motion throughout the Closing match of the Hero Indian Tremendous League 2022 performed between ATK Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC on the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Goa, Saturday, March 18, 2023.
| Picture Credit score: PTI

ATK Mohun Bagan held their nerves in a tightly contested Indian Tremendous League last to beat Bengaluru FC 4-3 on penalties and raise their maiden title right here on Saturday.

In a sport that ended 2-2 in regulation time, ATKMB’s Dimitri Petratos scored all three penalties he took on the evening earlier than Vishal Kaith’s save from Bruno Ramires’ within the shootout introduced them one step nearer.

Bengaluru FC’s Pablo Perez then despatched his spot-kick over the bar because the Mariners sealed the lead to a sport the place they’d unsettled Bengaluru FC proper from the beginning.

Bengaluru FC have been pressured into bringing Sunil Chhetri early on after Sivasakthi Narayanan was stretchered off within the opening seconds of the match.

Issues went additional away from plan within the thirteenth minute when Krishna dealt with the ball from a Petratos nook as ATKMB have been awarded a penalty. Petratos completed the job from the spot to place his staff in entrance.

ATKMB made use of this benefit to place stress on Bengaluru FC, who picked up a glut of yellow playing cards on the pitch and one off it for head coach Simon Grayson.

However within the last minute of first-half stoppage time, they got a manner again when Bose missed the ball and made contact with Krishna whereas trying a clearance. Chhetri stepped as much as take the penalty and despatched Kaith the flawed method to restore parity.

Within the last quarter of the sport, Rohit’s shot from the sting of the field created a sequence of corners, earlier than a deflection discovered Krishna on the far submit, and the striker nodded it residence within the 78th minute.

However 5 minutes from time, the sport was all sq. once more. On the fringe of the Bengaluru FC field, Kiyan Nassiri went down after a nudge from Perez as ATKMB gained their second penalty of the night. Petratos was readily available to attain once more.

Within the third minute of stoppage time, Asish Rai’s objective certain shot was cleared off the road by Prabir Das. Moments later, Colaco and Nassiri virtually mixed to attain, however Bruno Ramires supplied the essential interception as the sport went into additional time.

Udanta Singh and Rohit did not hit the goal of their respective makes an attempt in additional time, whereas Manvir missed from a number of yards out for ATKMB.

In direction of the top of additional time, Sandhu spilled Petratos’ long-range strike, but it surely bounced out for a nook that led to nothing earlier than the sport headed into penalties.

Within the nervy penalty shoot-out, Golden Glove winner Kaith stepped up for his staff for the second sport in a row, whereas nobody missed from the spot in a sport dictated by penalties all through.

Because the winners, ATKMB took residence a prize cash of ₹6 crore, whereas runners-up Bengaluru FC obtained ₹2.5 crore.

Most Popular