Wednesday, March 22, 2023

ATK Mohun Bagan Topped ISL Champions After Penalty Shootout Win Over Bengaluru FC | Soccer Information

ATK Mohun Bagan held their nerves in a tightly contested Indian Tremendous League remaining to beat Bengaluru FC 4-3 on penalties and raise their maiden title in Goa on Saturday. In a recreation that ended 2-2 in regulation time, ATKMB’s Dimitri Petratos scored all three penalties he took on the night time earlier than Vishal Kaith’s save from Bruno Ramires‘ within the shootout introduced them one step nearer. Bengaluru FC’s Pablo Perez then despatched his spot-kick over the bar because the Mariners sealed the end in a recreation the place that they had unsettled Bengaluru FC proper from the beginning. Bengaluru FC have been pressured into bringing Sunil Chhetri early on after Sivasakthi Narayanan was stretchered off within the opening seconds of the match.

Issues went additional away from plan within the thirteenth minute when Krishna dealt with the ball from a Petratos nook as ATKMB have been awarded a penalty. Petratos completed the job from the spot to place his staff in entrance.

ATKMB made use of this benefit to place strain on Bengaluru FC, who picked up a glut of yellow playing cards on the pitch and one off it for head coach Simon Grayson.

However within the remaining minute of first-half stoppage time, they got a means again when Bose missed the ball and made contact with Krishna whereas trying a clearance. Chhetri stepped as much as take the penalty and despatched Kaith the unsuitable approach to restore parity.

Within the remaining quarter of the sport, Rohit’s shot from the sting of the field created a sequence of corners, earlier than a deflection discovered Krishna on the far put up, and the striker nodded it house within the 78th minute.

However 5 minutes from time, the sport was all sq. once more. On the fringe of the Bengaluru FC field, Kiyan Nassiri went down after a nudge from Perez as ATKMB gained their second penalty of the night. Petratos was available to attain once more.

Within the third minute of stoppage time, Asish Rai’s objective sure shot was cleared off the road by Prabir Das. Moments later, Colaco and Nassiri nearly mixed to attain, however Bruno Ramires supplied the essential interception as the sport went into additional time.

Udanta Singh and Rohit did not hit the goal of their respective makes an attempt in additional time, whereas Manvir missed from just a few yards out for ATKMB.

In direction of the top of additional time, Sandhu spilled Petratos’ long-range strike, nevertheless it bounced out for a nook that led to nothing earlier than the sport headed into penalties.

Within the nervy penalty shoot-out, Golden Glove winner Kaith stepped up for his staff for the second recreation in a row, whereas nobody missed from the spot in a recreation dictated by penalties all through.

Because the winners, ATKMB took house a prize cash of Rs 6 crore, whereas runners-up Bengaluru FC obtained Rs 2.5 crore.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Matters talked about on this article

Most Popular