Friday, March 31, 2023

D. Gukesh wins Finest Younger Achiever (Boy) at Sportstar Aces Awards 2023

Indian grandmaster D. Gukesh gained the Sportstar Aces award for the Finest Younger Achiever (Boy) on the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai on Monday.

Gukesh had a yr to recollect as he went on to interrupt a number of data in 2022.

In March, Gukesh grew to become solely the sixth Indian to interrupt the 2700 Elo score mark, and the youngest Indian Grandmaster to be rated above 2700. He achieved this feat after defeating GM Le Quang Liem within the Biel Chess Competition.

“I am thankful to Sportstar for recognising my efforts and giving me this award, which is a great honour for me. 2022 was a very special year for me. I learnt a lot of things, I won quite a few strong open tournaments. Also, the Olympiad was a very memorable experience for me. I hope to keep learning and getting better. Hopefully, 2023 will be even better,” Gukesh stated through video conferencing.

At 16 years 1 month and seven days, Gukesh additionally grew to become the third youngest on the planet to be rated above 2700.

In August, whereas representing India within the forty fourth Chess Olympiad at Mahabalipuram, the 16-year-old surprised the world along with his phenomenal 2867 Elo score efficiency. He clinched the gold medal on the primary board with a record-breaking rating of 9.0/11.

In the identical month, he broke into the highest 20 on the planet rankings. Taking part in within the Turkish Isbank Chess Tremendous League, Gukesh reached his career-best rating (World No. 18) in reside rankings and 2735.9 as per reside rankings.

Later in October, within the Aimchess Fast match, Gukesh grew to become the youngest participant to defeat Magnus Carlsen in a web-based match, for the reason that latter grew to become world champion.

Former India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar, former India hockey captain M. M. Somaya, chess nice Viswanathan Anand, former India soccer skipper Bhaichung Bhutia, Olympic gold medallist Abhinav Bindra and Olympians Anjali Bhagwat and Aparna Popat are the members of the Sportstar Aces 2023 jury.

The occasion is supported by IDFC First Financial institution, Indian Oil, India Cements, United India, Ramaiah College, Experimenta Science Heart GD Naidu Charity, Finolex Pipes, LIC, BPCL, Samsonite, Huge Basket, Nippon Paint, CRICHQ, Wordswork, NewsX and Casagrand.

Most Popular