Thursday, March 30, 2023

Rohit Sharma withdraws ‘Mankading’ enchantment, avoids one more controversy throughout IND vs SL 1st ODI

India pacer Mohammed Shami virtually did a ‘Mankading’ by attempting to expire Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka on the non-striker’s finish however his skipper Rohit Sharma intervened and withdrew the enchantment to keep away from one more controversy within the first ODI right here on Tuesday.

The incident occured on the fourth ball of the ultimate over of Sri Lanka’s chase. Shanaka, who was two runs shy of his century, backed up Rajitha too far and Shami ran him out on the non-striker’s finish.

However Rohit got here in and withdrew the enchantment after a quick dialog with Shami.

Shanaka took the strike subsequent ball and accomplished his century with a 4. However his 108 not out off 88 balls went in useless as Sri Lanka managed 306 for eight to lose by 67 runs.

Run outs on the bowler’s finish have been now not thought-about ‘unfair play’ since October final yr after the ICC amended its rule guide.

Such run outs, when the batter tries to go previous the crease earlier than the bowler releases the ball, are informally known as ‘Mankading’, reminiscent of the primary such dismissal crafted by Vinoo Mankad when he ran out Invoice Brown on the non-strikers finish on this vogue twice within the 1947-48 Check sequence in opposition to Australia.

Most Popular