Thursday, March 30, 2023

Germany and Australia commerce prime honours over two editions

The German staff wins the World Cup at dwelling for its second consecutive triumph.
| Picture Credit score: The Hindu Archives

2006, Monchengladbach (Sept. 6-17)

Enjoying at dwelling for the primary time, Germany made up for all of the misplaced probabilities, successful its second consecutive World Cup title, defeating Australia 4-3 in a repeat of the ultimate from 4 years in the past. It additionally grew to become solely the second staff to take action after Pakistan and likewise the second staff to win at dwelling after the Netherlands.

The host dominated all the best way, with out dropping a single recreation and being stretched to the penalties solely as soon as, within the semifinal in opposition to eventual bronze medalist Spain.

Australia, in the meantime, suffered a single loss — once more to Spain — however established its place on this planet, Jamie Dwyer being named Participant-of-the-Event.

India began properly, matching Germany until the very finish in its opening recreation earlier than Christopher Zeller struck the winner within the dying seconds. It was all downhill after that, India failing to win a single recreation and only a draw in opposition to South Africa, whom it beat once more to keep away from the wood spoon within the competitors which went again to being a 12-team affair.

High three: Germany, Australia, Spain; India: eleventh.

2010, New Delhi (Feb. 28-March 13)

The second time India hosted the match, it was additionally a precursor to the Commonwealth Video games however was preceded by a number of governance and participant points. The match was overseen by an ad-hoc committee underneath the sports activities ministry with the Indian Hockey Federation suspended. The gamers went on a flash strike demanding higher remuneration and match charges, the run-up to match was an organisational mess, however as soon as it started, the standard of competitors was top-class.

Australia gained its second title, lastly avenging its two consecutive remaining losses to Germany 2-1. India began with a complete 4-1 win in opposition to Pakistan within the first recreation between the 2 sides within the World Cup since dropping the battle for bottom-place in 1986. However that was the one shiny spot for the staff that completed a lowly eighth in entrance of dwelling crowds.

High three: Australia, Germany, the Netherlands; India: Eighth.

The Australian team celebrates with the trophy after beating Germany in the World Cup final in New Delhi, 2010.

The Australian staff celebrates with the trophy after beating Germany within the World Cup remaining in New Delhi, 2010.
| Picture Credit score:
The Hindu Archives

Most Popular