Thursday, March 30, 2023

Bismah Maroof to guide Pakistan in Ladies’s T20 World Cup, Diana Baig returns

Bismah Maroof will proceed to guide Pakistan within the group’s upcoming assignments – the limited-overs tour of Australia and the tour of South Africa for the ICC Ladies’s T20 World Cup (February 10 to February 26). A 15-member squad for each excursions have been introduced by the Pakistan Cricket Board on Wednesday.

In a serious enhance to the group, three of its injured bowlers are again within the group. Diana Baig makes a comeback after lacking the house collection towards Eire in October-November on account of a shoulder damage, whereas spinners Sadia Iqbal and Tuba Hassan are again within the white-ball squads after recovering from hand and index-finger accidents, respectively. Left-arm spinner Sadia is a member of each the ODI and T20I squads, whereas leg-spinner Tuba is a member of the T20I squad.

Two gamers – Fatima Sana and Tuba Hassan – will make their maiden look for Pakistan within the ICC Ladies’s T20 World Cup.

Pakistan will play three ODIs and three T20Is in Australia from January 16 to 29.

ALSO READ – Who’s Allah Mohammad Ghazanfar, Afghan spinner who has signed up for IPL public sale?

Commenting on the squads, chief selector Asmavia Iqbal mentioned: “I wish luck to the players who have been selected for both Australia series and ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. I am hopeful the side will continue to perform as well as they did in the ACC Women’s Asia Cup and the Ireland series. The ODI series against Australia is very crucial; the expectations are high as we have won five of the six ICC Championship matches. Our aim is to qualify directly for the 50-over World Cup.

“We have relied more on the senior players in the formation of the squad for the World Cup and we expect them to use their experience on the field and get positive results for the team. The return of Diana Baig, Sadia Iqbal and Tuba Hassan will give a boost to the side and will strengthen our bowling attack which has the capability to do well. Sidra Nawaz has been added as our second wicketkeeper in the squad to give Muneeba Ali some space to express herself more with the bat, and gives an added option to the captain to utilise the services of a second wicketkeeper on the long tour.”

Pakistan ODI squad for Australia collection

Bismah Maroof (c), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz (wk)

Travelling Reserves: Aimen Anwar, Javeria Khan and Tuba Hassan

Pakistan T20I squad for Australia collection and ICC Ladies’s T20 World Cup

Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk) and Tuba Hassan.

Reserves: Ghulam Fatima, Kainat Imtiaz and Sadaf Shamas

Most Popular