Sunday, March 26, 2023

Indian Sports activities Information Wrap, December 3

Listed below are the highest developments in Indian sport on Saturday, December 3.


Rising shuttler Unnati Hooda on Saturday grew to become the primary Indian to enter the U-17 ladies’s singles closing of the Badminton Asia Junior Championships in Nothaburi, Thailand after beating Japan’s Mion Yokouchi in straight video games.

Unnati received 21-8, 21-17 over her Japanese rival within the ladies’s U-17 singles semifinals. She faces Sarunrak Vitidsarn of Thailand within the gold medal match on Sunday.

Beneath-15 singles participant Anish Thoppani and U-17 males’s doubles pair of Arsh Mohammad and Sanskar Saraswat additionally posted sensible victories to maneuver into the finals.

Prime-seed Unnati as soon as once more lived as much as the expectations and stamped her authority as she wrapped up the match in straight units. The Odisha Open champion has not but dropped a set in her marketing campaign on the prestigious occasion.

The boys’s doubles pairs of Arjun MR-Chirag Shetty (2013) and Krishna Prasad Garaga-Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (2015) have received gold medals for India within the U-17 class on the match.

The in-form duo of Arsh and Sanskar additionally showcased an analogous dominating show in opposition to Chinese language Taipei’s Chi-Ruei Chiu and Shao Hua Chiu to ease into the U-17 males’s doubles closing with a commanding 21-15, 21-19 win in a lopsided last-four contest.

They may face one other Chinese language Taipei pair of Lai Po Yu and Yi-Hao Lin within the closing.

Within the males’s U-15 semifinal, Anish made a sensational comeback after being one sport right down to stun the second seed Lee Yu-Jui of Chinese language Taipei 18-21, 21-12, 21-12.

Within the closing, Anish will probably be up in opposition to Chung-Hsiang Yih of Chinese language Taipei, who beat India’s Gnana Dattu 21-16, 19-21, 21-13 in one other semifinal. Dattu signed off with a bronze.

In 2013, Siril Verma had received gold medal within the males’s U-15 singles whereas Samiya Farooqui and Tasnim Mir clinched the U-15 ladies’s singles titles in 2017 and 2019, respectively.

The U-15 males’s doubles pair of Bjorn Jaison and Aathish Sreenivas PV additionally received a bonze after dropping to top-seeded Indonesian duo of Muhammad Mubarrok and Raihan Pramono 18-21, 14-21 within the semifinals. 



Nehru ladies’s match

Ritika and Manisha scored a aim every to assist Pritam Siwach Academy, Sonipat, to a 2-1 victory over Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy in a league match of the Nehru ladies’s hockey match on the Shivaji Stadium on Saturday.

Soniya Kumre scored the aim for the Gwalior crew.

In one other match, Sashastra Seema Bal cruised to a 5-0 victory over Metal Crops Sports activities Board.


Pritam Siwach Academy, Sonipat, (Ritika, Manisha) bt Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Gwalior (Soniya Kumre) 2-1.

Sashastra Seema Bal (Kumudini Kullu 2, Ranjita Minj, Rajni Bala, Manisha) bt Metal Crops Sports activities Board 5-0.

– Kamesh Srinivasan


Dhruv, Divya win AITA Championship collection junior match

Dhruv Kumar and Divya Ungrish received the girls and boys titles within the AITA Championship collection junior tennis match on the Tennis Gurukul, Khera Khurd.

Dhruv beat Kanishk Yadav 6-3, 7-5 within the closing whereas Divya outplayed Neelakshi Lather 6-0, 6-2 for the ladies title.

– Kamesh Srinivasan


Anjum Moudgil capped a high-quality season by profitable the silver within the ladies’s rifle 3-position occasion within the President’s Cup in Cairo, Egypt, on Saturday.

The 28-year-old Anjum was overwhelmed to the gold 16-14 by Anna Janssen of Germany. With the scores tied at 14-14, Anna shot 9.9. Anjum shot 8.8 and missed the gold.

It has been a brilliant season for Anjum, who had received the World Cup silver in Baku and the bronze within the Changwon World Cups. She had additionally made the ultimate of the World Championship.

Curiously, Anjum had shot a file 591 in qualification, a outstanding enchancment from scores of 586 and 587 earlier within the season.

Within the President’s Cup, which is the season ending competitors for the most effective shooters of the yr, World Champion Rudrankksh Balasaheb Patil had earlier received the air rifle gold.


50m rifle 3-position: Girls: 1. Anna Janssen (Ger) 16 (411.1) 592; 2. Anjum Moudgil 14 (412.9) 591; 3. Rikke Maeng Ibsen (Den) 406.3 (590).

Most Popular