Sunday, March 26, 2023

Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee, Hemang Badani emerge as entrance runners for nationwide selectors’ position

The deadline for submitting functions for all of the 5 members of the nationwide choice committee expired on Monday night.

Among the many outstanding names who’ve utilized for the publish are former Check cricketers Maninder Singh, Nayan Mongia, Shiv Sundar Das, Rajesh Chauhan and Sameer Dighe.

Opposite to varied reviews, former India wicketkeepers Deep Dasgupta and Vijay Dahiya, all-rounder Laxmi Ratan Shukla and leggie L.Sivaramakrishnan haven’t utilized for the position. It couldn’t be ascertained whether or not Ajit Agarkar, the pacer who was snubbed in January 2020, has utilized.

Sportstar understands that former India pacers Salil Ankola and Subroto Banerjee together with fashionable batter Hemang Badani – all of whom have utilized – are more likely to be significantly thought-about for the position.

With the deadline for software closing, the Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) in session with the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) should shortlist the candidates to be interviewed.

Nevertheless, the CAC is but to be reconstituted. Whereas S. Madan Lal, the chief of CAC, is ineligible to proceed having crossed the 70-year age restrict, Rudra Pratap Singh could also be relieved for the reason that former pacer has just lately signed up as a expertise scout with Mumbai Indians. 

Sulakshana Naik was the third member of the CAC.

The BCCI is more likely to announce the rejigged CAC by weekend and plans to finish the choice committee appointment by December 15, earlier than the tip of India’s sequence in Bangladesh.

Different candidates embody Atul Wassan, Ajay Ratra, Nikhil Chopra, Gyanendra Pandey, Pravanjan Mullick, Rashmi Ranjan Parida, Sanjay Raul, Saradindu Mukherjee, Subhomoy Das and D Vasu.

– With inputs from Shayan Acharya

Most Popular