Thursday, March 30, 2023

‘Samson is sufferer of favouritism working in BCCI. It is horrible’: Followers fume at Dhawan, Laxman for 2nd ODI crew choice

Sanju Samson was not picked within the enjoying XI in the course of the three-match T20I collection with captain Hardik Pandya explaining it to be an “unlucky” case and “strategic” cause. He was nonetheless given an opportunity within the first ODI earlier this week the place he scored a 38-ball 36 whereas stitching a vital 96-run stand alongside Shreyas Iyer that helped in India’s revival. However Samson was dropped but once more, on Sunday, for the second ODI to make method for larger bowling depth and the choice left followers fuming at captain Shikhar Dhawan and head coach VVS Laxman. (India vs New Zealand Reside Rating 2nd ODI)

There was criticism over India that includes simply 5 bowlers for the opening ODI the place the guests misplaced by seven wickets. Therefore, India made two adjustments for the second match. “As an alternative of Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar is available in and Deepak Hooda comes rather than Sanju Samson,” stated Dhawan after shedding the toss.

ALSO READ: ‘Achha hua jo T20 World Cup nahi khela…’: Umran Malik’s father breaks silence on son’s non-selection

The choice to drop Samson but once more left Indian cricket followers dissatisfied as they lashed out on the skipper and at BCCI, alleging them of “favoritism”. Right here is bow Twitter reacted…

“We might have bowled first as there’s moisture within the wicket. Even within the final recreation the wicket was seaming for the primary 10-15 overs, we bought to maintain the optimistic intent and go for the runs,” Dhawan added after India had been put to bat first. “We solely want 10 p.c of enchancment and it makes a huge effect and particularly within the dying bowling, we bought to be a bit extra smarter.”


India (Taking part in XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand (Taking part in XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

Most Popular