Thursday, March 30, 2023

New Zealand decide to bat, Chapman in for Williamson; Harshal replaces Washington

Toss New Zealand selected to bat vs India

Beneath overcast skies at McLean Park in Napier, New Zealand gained the toss that was delayed by half an hour, and opted to bat within the remaining T20I towards India.

Mark Chapman was a straight swap for Kane Williamson, who missed the sport on account of a medical appointment, and the hosts have been led by Tim Southee. India added one other seam-bowling possibility in Harshal Patel instead of Washington Sundar as their solely change.

The pitch was below covers for greater than a few hours owing to regular rain earlier within the day. The sq. boundaries in Napier have been quick whereas there have been lumps of grass on the floor, which may come to the help of the bowlers.

Hardik Pandya, India’s captain, mentioned that key to taking part in in such quick sq. dimensions was to not assume a lot about them. “We preserve that in thoughts however the skillsets that our batters and bowlers have, we do not have to assume a lot,” he mentioned. “On a floor like this, you shouldn’t assume a lot as a result of there may be little you possibly can management.”

New Zealand: 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway (wk), 3 Mark Chapman, 4 Glenn Phillips, 5 Daryl Mitchell, 6 James Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Adam Milne, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10, Tim Southee (capt), 11 Lockie Ferguson

India: 1 Ishan Kishan, 2 Rishabh Pant (wk), 3 Suryakumar Yadav, 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Hardik Pandya (capt), 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 8 Harshal Patel, 9 Arshdeep Singh, 10 Mohammed Siraj, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

Most Popular